Die beliebten Kekse bestehen größtenteils aus Weizenmehl, Zucker und Fett. As a result, dairy comes in close contact with Oreo cookies, making them unsafe for vegans. Das gilt allerdings nicht nur für Oreos. Sind Oreos vegan?

But opting out of some of these cookies may have an effect on your browsing experience. It was only in the mid-1990s, over concerns about the healthfulness of animal fat, that Nabisco, Oreo’s parent company, decided to … “My stance on Oreos is not about the traces of milk but the issue with the palm oil,” says Rachel Nurse, a vegan from Cardiff. Wer sich etwas auskennt weiß, dass dieser Hinweis durch das Unternehmen in der Regel für Allergiker gedacht ist, um sich rechtlich abzusichern. Auch wenn viele Veganer sich wohl darüber freuen, dass Oreos vegan sind, ist die Zutatenliste kein Grund zur Freude.

No butter! You’re on your own when it comes to recreating any of their often-baffling “special” flavors, though.
Nicht wirklich vegan??? In the early twentieth century, they were made with lard (pig fat). “Accidentally vegan” foods are those that were not created intentionally to be marketed to vegan* eaters. It means that the factory where the Oreo cookies are produced makes other products that do contain milk.

Mondelez warns that there is a possibility that Oreos contain milk traces. For example, some people are just dietary vegans and they’re fine with animal products as long as they aren’t eating them. When the company gives you such a disclaimer, there is a possibility that the Oreo cookies will contain traces of dairy. Despite not containing animal products, the Oreo company says on their FAQ page that Oreos are not vegan, stating: “Oreos have milk as cross contact and therefore are not suitable for vegans.”.

Oreo cookies are made of very common ingredients that are found in many biscuits and similar products. Oreo cookies in the UK (2020) are produced by Mondelez International. Für Links auf dieser Seite erhält FOCUS ggf. The vanilla creme-filled cookies were once made with lard. Alle Inhalte, insbesondere die Texte und Bilder von Agenturen, sind urheberrechtlich geschützt und dürfen nur im Rahmen der gewöhnlichen Nutzung des Angebots vervielfältigt, verbreitet oder sonst genutzt werden.

It’s true, #Oreos are #vegan! Liste: Alle Sales in grünen Onlineshops 2020. This applies to Oreo cookies as well! While the raw Oreo version probably won’t work so well here, the crisp vegan Oreo recipe up top should make a great chocolate cookie pie crust or edible “dirt” once whizzed up in a food processor. Some vegans feel that the bacteria produced B12 found in supplements goes against their style of veganism while others do not. Isabel Passos from London who also follows a vegan diet, did not even know about the whole Oreo controversy. The two important ingredients in Oreo are sugar and palm oil, which are quite controversial among vegans due to their production process. Others go as far as to say that certain plants are not vegan-friendly because they harm more animals than other plants.

None of the ingredients found in an Oreo cookie are whole, real foods. For an answer, we turn to PETA, the organization many would consider the authority on what counts as vegan.